Image

DATING MYSELF

20130629-125430.jpg

so, as you know…I am currently in a temporary long-distance relationship. and, for me, the struggle with loneliness is very real. Satan loves to swoop in and lie to me. I am not alone, but my heart sometimes waivers.

there are a few things I have found can combat this. the best thing: taking myself on a date. I get dressed up, I put on makeup, and I go somewhere and treat myself. make sure you are wearing something you not only feel comfortable in, but that you adore. give yourself a compliment, walk with your held high…for it is you who needs to love the way you look the most. believe in your beauty, inside and out.

20130629-130933.jpg

now it’s important to actually go somewhere. for me, it might be a bookstore or to fro-yo or a movie. the actual place doesn’t really matter…but I do think it is very important to go somewhere public. being around people energizes you and can also be a physical reminder that you are not in fact alone in this world, that God has created and is caring for billions of other souls just like you. at first it can be awkward, but soon I find myself reveling in the alone time. I get to pick what to watch or where to eat or where to sit, without compromise.

20130629-132810.jpg

my final thought on dating yourself…buy yourself something. maybe it’s a bouquet of flowers. maybe it’s a cute card or print with a message you really need to remember. maybe it’s just a tub of popcorn at the movies. but a very important rule of dating yourself is to remind yourself that you are not only worthy, but that you are capable of making yourself feel good…you do not need to rely on a partners affection to do that.

…nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 8:39

One thought on “DATING MYSELF

  1. Loved reading this little post, and the idea of dating yourself. I’m not in a full force long distance relationship since my boyfriend is only an hr away, but I can relate to trying to find uplifting things for yourself to do during times when you miss the other person. I think I’m going to take myself out on a date soon. Thanks for the tips

Leave a Reply

